The Process: A Batman Pez Stencil

I created this slide show to show one of the many ways i create art. I think the process is sometimes more exciting then the final piece, so i feel it’s important to show how it’s done. There was preliminary work to painting which is not shown. That would include drawing out each stencil and cutting them. I’ll try not to reveal all of my secrets, but if anyone decides to follow in my footsteps, i hope you give credit where credit is do! This is one of my stencil pieces. I cut a number of stencils for a piece (6 for batman), and figure out and order to apply them. Stenciling is very similar to the silk screening process, in that each layer has its own flat color, but in layers you can gain great 3D qualities. I enjoy flat layers, as I’m a big fan of POP art. I first figure out how to turn a 3D image in to a 2D surface. I find the largest areas/the back ground and build the layers forward. And i always finish with using the extremes, black and white for the shadows and highlights. Since i like vintage items, toys, and all things retro, my work reflects those types of items, and the strong highlights acknowledge the original surfaces like plastic (in this piece), glass, etc… I’m painting on wrapping paper. Why you ask? After i finish my piece i cut it out like a giant sticker and mount it to my canvas, skateboard deck, or whatever surface i choose. By using wrapping paper, i can cut off any over sprays, adjust the image on the new surface to get the best arrangement. Wrapping paper is a great cheap surface to work with and the final piece doesn’t reflect what was originally used. I’ll post the fished piece in a few days. With the batman piece, i think I’m going to apply it to a broken skate board deck, like a few previous pieces. I’m trying to build a series of my Pez Dispensers. I hope you enjoy this mini tutorial.

