“¡Andale! ¡Andale! ¡Arriba! ¡Arriba!” – Day 19

It’s Speedy! Speedy Gonzales that is, he’s another one of my favorite Looney Tunes Characters. I remember trying to run as fast as him when i was little. I think the only thing that came fast were the injuries from running into things. None the less, i have fond memories of him. Speedy is dressed in his usual traditional outfit that is clean and neat, but the skate deck is beaten up, covered in graffiti and more contemporary in style. So i see these components opposing each other, and i like that push in art. At the same time its harmonious in the color sense. A few of the boards (including this one) seem to follow a color path, and this one is a primary scheme (red, yellow, blue, for those of you non artists). Sometimes you just follow the simple path. If it works, use it. There’s no need to over do it. In past works, i think that was one of my downfalls. I used to work a piece until i ruined it, and then i would end up scraping the whole idea, or become extremely frustrated. Maybe I’m just getting older, and more willing to listen to suggestions and critiques. Whatever the change is, I’m really enjoying the work that I’ve been making. There’s a method i always tell to younger artists and it’s called the K.I.S.S. method. “Keep it simple stupid!”. ha ha. Maybe that’s become my method.

