It’s Less Than Jake… From State Farm

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s another fun project that I just completed! Per my last post, my buddy Sean from Sandusky Bay Poster Works had an idea for us to work on, and this is it. First off, I’d like to mention that i grew up on power punk rock, ska, alternative, and other 1990’s-2000’s rock and roll of those sorts: so to be able to make art for bands that made music at that time (and now) reminds me of some of the best times of my life. Less Than Jake is one of those bands! And how fitting/ironic that some of the members collect Pez Dispensers and that band utilizes the concept of Pez for the titles of their albums and within their cover work (fitting as to my 365 Pez Project). Any way, I pulled 20 Evolution Kid-broken Skateboards for Less Than Jake’s, Wake and Bake Weekend Tour in Gainsville Florida happening at the end of the month. Each board is a real used broken skateboard (like my 365 Pez Project) with a stencil of their Evolution kid. Each board is signed and numbered out of 20 (on the bottom right of the face of the board). This is the first editioned board set I have done, and in record time. I knocked out 20 of these bad boys in 3 days. That’s like 6.5 a day. Each Evo kid was 10 stencils for added depth and volume. You can do the math on how many stencils in total that is.

I changed the Pez logo/text on the stem of each piece to read LTJ. The skateboards are all different lengths, but most of them read either LT or LTJ. This was a lot of fun. I don’t think i’ve cut a Pez stencil in over a year. It felt good to be back in the saddle of a project that really elevated my art career. I hope the fans at the show dig them. I hope the band digs them. And I have to thank Sean again, for being a cool guy with cool ideas. Also, if you’re one of the lucky few who makes the show in Florida and gets one of these boards please take a picture and email it to me. I’d love to see who gets them. I’m off to another project! or maybe a nap.

ltj1 ltj2 ltj3 ltj4 ltj5 ltj6 ltj7 ltj8 ltj9 ltj10 ltj20 ltj19 ltj18 ltj17 ltj16 ltj15 ltj14 ltj13 ltj12 ltj11

