Here’s My Two Cents…

pennies rich

Here are my “new” business cards. Well… until i run out. They’re really a show specific card and commemorative token. I use pennies to hold down my paper stencils when i’m spray painting. I use them so I don’t have blow outs or over sprays and they help me to get the most crisp lines possible. After using them for multiple paintings, they build up with a lot of paint. They then become these rainbow covered pennies. I always loved the idea of getting a piece of the pie, or the puzzle (in regards to an art movement or moment in time), and this idea was based off that feeling. I know that everyone who wants art can’t always get it for whatever reason; financial, there’s only one piece available, or whatever the case might be. So i wanted guests to get a mini work of art that was used to make the bigger pieces of art. So i’ll be handing out these pennies at the Don’t Panic! show on April 17th (while supplies last). I took the paint covered pennies and put them in my rock tumbler, and let them sand down a bit. What’s left are these fun rainbow pennies. I then put them in penny protectors, and had a custom label made to go over that. And what we have is a commemorative business card thing! I think they’re fun and i hope others understand what i’m trying to achieve. Each one is a different then the next, and there are 5 different cover art images. I think it also plays of a gimmick i often use which is, “Get R!ch”. In this case you’re actually getting money/a piece of my process… its just a perfect way to some up my motivation and drive as an artist. “if you want it, you can have it” – Weezer. Hard work really pays off, and i’m sure i’ll be sharing more of those pay offs with you all soon. Stay tuned, and stop out on the 17th. It’s going to be a fun show to say the least.

One thought on “Here’s My Two Cents…

Comments are closed.