I Heard the News Today… Oh Boy

It’s been a while since I posted any recent art. (Sorry)  Although I feel like I’ve been working a lot on new pieces, I just haven’t really been posting them.  Busy is my middle name, but that’s not an excuse so here’s one of my recent pieces.  This is a piece I did for a Beatles Art Show at E11even 2 a few months ago.  It was inspired by the song “A Day in the Life” by the Beatles.  It also lights up (it’s back lit), playing of the the lyric “I’d love to turn you on”.  This piece is pretty big.  I’m guessing about 24 x 36ish (maybe bigger).  It’s mixed media, spray paint, and found objects.  I had a lot of fun making this piece, and it’s opened some new concepts for other recent pieces i’ve posted on Facebook (like my skulls and Godzilla piece).  I really like the old “icon” religious pieces found in churches, so this idea is John Lennon being an icon and a “god” in the music/creative world.  I made a halo from bottle caps and the there is a heavenly star burst behind him.  There are many “hidden” clues to the song also featured in the work.  If you look hard enough you’ll find them.  I’m sorry its been a while, i plan on getting more work up soon.  Enjoy!

john lennon, art, i'd love to turn you on, mixed media, rich cihlar, e11even 2, cleveland, artists

