Twenty Seven Forever

hendrix prin 1hendrix 2

So I have been busy with exhibitions and i haven’t posted anything in a while (sorry).  But here is a new piece (actually 2) for an upcoming show at e11even 2 called 27.  The show’s theme is centered around musicians who passed away at the age of 27, and specifically 6 of those musicians are being featured  in this exhibition. (Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Brian Jones, Amy Winehouse, Jim Morrison, and Kurt Cobain)  I chose Jimi Hendrix and Kurt Cobain as my 2 pieces.  My Cobain piece isn’t done yet, I guess you’ll have to see it at the exhibition on May 20th.  But in the meantime, here are 2 Hendrix pieces that I made.  Both are from the same stencil.

The first is a wood piece, made from bisecting 4×4’s like bread and then cutting the stencil in reverse so I was painting the highlight (vs. the shadow).  The intention was to build a small guitar and attach it to this piece, but the more i looked at it i enjoyed the simplicity of it and it’s spiral texture of the wood was enough for me to make it interesting.  It measures about 27 x 27 inches

The second piece was created while i was contemplating the first.  I went a little more graphic design meets fine art on it.  I incorporated some new techniques I discovered to give it a vibration effect.  I was thinking about what images do sounds make?  And the idea that i came up with was vibration.  So i painted this echo line in multiple directions to simulate vibration.  It also gives the pieces a celestial feel.  Like the music orbits Jimi, or that he is the center of the universe.  Either interpretation works for me.  It’s a new color pallet for me.  I tried to avoid using blacks as the shadows and whites as the high lights.  So you can see i went brown (as my shadow) and pinks (as my highlight).  I thought it was an appropriate for the 60’s/70’s color pallet that Hendrix performed in.  This piece is 24 x 36 inches.

I’m not sure which piece (or both) will be in the show at this point, but i should have prints of both available there.  Any way, check out the show “27” at e11even 2 on May 20th from 5-9p.  There’s a lot of cool work in many mediums.

